KSDVD046 Cover

I AM THE GORGON tells the larger than life tale of legendary record
producer Bunny ‘Striker’ Lee, charting his rise from car mechanic
and record plugger to reggae’s most successful producer in the 1970s.
His journey involves politics, arguments, gangs and guns, as Jamaican
music moves from ska to rocksteady, from dub to dancehall, from the
backstreets of Kingston to the concert halls of the world.

Directed by musician and filmmaker Diggory Kenrick and narrated by
legendary deejay Dennis Alcapone, this acclaimed documentary
features an amazing roll call of Jamaican artists, including Singers:
John Holt, Horace Andy, Johnny Clarke, Cornell Campbell, Ken Boothe,
Linval Thompson, Derrick Morgan, Max Romeo, Errol Dunkley, Stranger Cole,
BB Seaton, Roy Shirley, Jimmy Riley, Winston Francis, The Blackstones,
The Twinkle Brothers. Deejays: Tappa Zukie, U Roy, Dennis Alcapone,
Dillinger, Trinity, Dr Alimantado, Jah Stitch, Prince Jazzbo.

Musicians: Sly Dunbar, Robbie Shakespeare, Aston ‘Family Man’ Barrett,
Earl ‘Chinna’ Smith, Carlton ‘Santa’ Davis. Producers: Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry,
King Jammy, Scientist, Niney The Observer, and many more.

Contains DVD with 30 minute­s bonus footage + 22 track original movie
soundtrack CD + 32 page full colour booklet.

DVD Original Movie Soundtrack featuring 22 Killer Hits:

1 Revenge Of The Flying Cymbals – Bunny ‘Striker’ Lee All Stars
2 Cool Operator – Delroy Wilson
3 The Gorgon – Cornell Campbell
4 Ripe Cherry – Dennis AlCapone
5 The Beatitude – The Uniques
6 You’re No Good – Ken Boothe
7 Money Money – Horace Andy
8 Move Out Of Babylon Rastaman – Johnny Clarke
9 Labrish – The Upsetters & The Aggrovators
10 Two Faced People – Max Romeo
11 It’s Reggae Time – Don Lee
12 Last Flight To Reggae City – Stranger Cole & Tommy McCook
13 Jah Is I Guiding Star – Tappa Zukie
14 Joyful Locks – U Roy
15 The Great Musical Battle – Derrick Morgan
16 The Clock – John Holt
17 Straight To Jazzbo’s Head – I Roy
18 Straight To I Roy’s Head – Prince Jazzbo
19 The Killer – Jah Stitch
20 Cool Down Your Temper – Linval Thompson
21 Lazer Beam – Don Carlos
22 Jamaican Roots Dub – King Tubby & The Aggrovators

All tracks copyright control

Musicians Include:

Lyn Taitt & The Jets:
Bass: Bryan Atkinson / Drums: Joe Isaacs / Guitar: Nearlyn ‘Lyn’ Taitt & Lynford ‘Hux’ Brown
Piano: Gladstone ‘Gladdy’ Anderson & Theophilus ‘Easy Snapping’ Beckford / Organ: Winston ‘Brubeck’ Wright

Bobby Aitken & The Carib Beats:
Bass: Vincent White / Drums: Winston Grennan / Guitar: Bobby Aitken / Piano: Bobby Kalphat / Organ: Ansel Collins­

The Aggrovators featuring:
Bass: Robert ‘Robbie’ Shakespeare / Drums: Carlton ‘Santa’ Davis / Lead Guitar: Earl ‘Chinna’ Smith / Rhythm Guitar: Albert Valentine ‘Tony’ Chin /
Piano: Ansel ‘Pinkie’ Collins / Organ: Bernard ‘Touter’ Harvey / Tenor Saxophone: Tommy McCook Alto Saxophone: Lennox Brown / Trumpet: Bobby Ellis /
Trombone: Vincent ‘Don D Junior’/’Trommie’ Gordon / Percussion: Denzil ‘Pops’ Laing, Noel ‘Zoot’/‘Scully’ Simms & & Uziah ‘Sticky’ Thompson

Recorded at:
Channel One Recording Studio, 29 Maxfield Avenue, Kingston 13, Jamaica / Engineers: Sid Bucknor & Ernest Hookim
Dynamic Sounds Recording Company Limited, 13/15 Bell Road, Kingston 11, Jamaica / Engineers: Lynford ‘Andy Capp’ Anderson, Sid Bucknor, Carlton Lee & Karl Pitterson
Federal Recording Studios Limited, 220 Marcus Garvey Drive, Kingston 11, Jamaica / Engineer: Louis ‘Buddy’ Davidson
Harry J Recording Studio, 10 Roosevelt Avenue, Kingston 6, Jamaica / Engineer: Sylvan Morris
King Tubby’s Recording Studio, 18 Dromilly Avenue, Waterhouse, Kingston 11, Jamaica / Engineers: Lloyd ‘Prince Jammy’ James, Pat Kelly, Osbourne ‘King Tubby’ Ruddock & Phillip ‘Prince Phillip’ Smart
Randy’s Studio 17, 17 North Parade, Kingston, Jamaica / Engineers: Dennis Thompson & Errol ‘ET’/’Errol T’ Thompson
Treasure Isle Recording Studio, 33 Bond Street, Kingston, Jamaica / Engineer: Byron Smith
WIRL (West Indies Records Limited), 13/15 Bell Road, Kingston 11, Jamaica / Engineers: Lynford ‘Andy Capp’ Anderson & Graeme Goodall
Design by: Gary @ Voodoo London, Front cover animation art by: Stirzocular.