What we have here is one of Cornell Campbell’s great Dancehall early
1980’s set of songs, when the beat slowed down to that classic one
drop style that suited his voice so well.The album includes the title track
‘Boxing’ which was a massive hit for Cornell on its initial release in 1982,
also a Dancehall reworking of ‘Queen Of The Minstrel’ and a fantastic
dancehall cut to Bob Marley’s ‘Natty Dread’.

Cornell Campbell ( born 1948,Jamaica)had his first musical outings
in the early 1960’s, for Coxonne Dodd’s Studio 1. Such tracks as
‘Under The Old Oak Tree’, ’My Treasure’ and as a duo alongside
Roy Patton, ‘Slavation’ and ‘Sweetest Girl’. These were local hits
and led to Cornell joining vocal group the Uniques .Which led the
way to forming his own group, based on that ‘Uniques’ style, a style
that suited his voice so well, they would be called the Eternals.
A highlight of which would be the timeless songs, ‘Stars’ and
‘Queen of The Minstrels’.

The 1970’s saw Cornell move on to work with producer
Bunny‘Striker’ Lee. A very successful partnership that produced a
stream of hits. A theme of the ‘Gorgon’, featured in many of the songs,
the mighty figure unbeatable at the Jamaican Sound Systems.
Such hits as ‘The Gorgon’, ’The Conquering Gorgon’,
‘Natty Dread In A Greenwich Farm’ and included on this 1982
album ‘The Gorgon Is Back’, all become Jamaican favourites.
Who the Gorgon was?, Bunny Lee or Campbell himself, was of no
concern, it was a style that conquered all. Campbell’s Rastafarian
beliefs also added a depth to the songs he sang and made a convincing
musical statement. Weather the subject matter be Injustice, Corruption
or heartfelt love songs. It is from this period that we concentrate on for
this release. A reissue of Cornell’s early eighties ‘Boxing’ set complete
here, that carried that same message and statement through to the
Dancehall Style. A new chapter in Reggae’s sound that saw the rhythm
slowed down and seemed to add even more emphasis to the songs

Yes another great set of songs that work so well together and
make a time defining album. Be sure to play it in full…

Cornell Campbell at his finest respect.

CD Track Listing

1 It’s Grooving Time
2 Queen Of The Minstrel
3 Be True To Me
4 Speak No Evil
5 The Gorgon Is Back
6 Party Time
7 Boxing
8 Natty Dread
9 Rasta Come From Jail
10 Confusion
11 100 lb Collie
12 Devil In Bed
13 The Drifter*
14 My Guiding Star*
15 Everybody Want Promotion*
16 Jah Jah Me No Born Yah*

*CD Bonus Tracks

Vinyl Track Listing

Side 1
1 It’s Grooving Time
2 Queen Of The Minstrel
3 Be True To Me
4 Speak No Evil
5 The Gorgon Is Back
6 Party Time

Side 2

1 Boxing
2 Natty Dread
3 Rasta Come From Jail
4 Confusion
5 100 lb Collie
6 Devil In Bed

Musicians Include:
Sly Dunbar, Carlton ‘Santa’ Davis: Drums
Robbie Shakespeare: Bass
Earl ‘Chinna’ Smith: Lead Guitar
Willie Lingo: Rhythm Guitar
Winston Wright & Robbie Lynn: Organ
Jackie Mittoo & Keith Sterling: Piano
Skully & Stickey : Percussion
Tommy McCook: Tenor Saxophone
Bobby Ellis: Trumpet
Deadley ‘Headley’ Bennett & Vin Gordon: Trombone

Recorded at: Channel 1, Joe Gibbs & King Tubby’s
Mixed at: King Tubby’s
Produced By: Bunny Lee
Photography: Courtesy of Bunny Lee
Design By: Gary @Voodoo London
Manufactured Under License from: E. Lee