Dennis Brown has always been cited as Jamaica’s favourite singer. While Bob Marley
set out to conquer the world, Dennis’s popularity on the island grew with every year.
Overseas success also came Browns way with crossover hits like the massive
‘Money In My Pocket’. He will always be fondly remembered on the sound
systems across the caribbean as the Crown Prince of Reggae.

Dennis Brown (b Dennis Emanuel Brown,1957, Kingston, Jamaica) began his
illustrious career at the grand age of eleven like many of the other child singers at
Coxsonne Dodds Studio One stable. His first hit in 1969 a cover of Van Dykes
‘No Man Is An Island’ still stands the tests of time and also its follow up cut
‘If I Follow My Heart’ as Reggae classics. The 1970’s saw Dennis build on his
reputation by working with all the top Jamaican producers and studio’s perfecting
his sound. Lloyd Daley, Impact, Joe Gibbs, Aquarius and Derrick Harriott to name
but a few. But it was his work with producer Winston ‘Niney’ Holness that he enjoyed
the most success and many say recorded his best work for. Where many of the other
producers stayed with the tried and tested Lovers Rock formula that did prove so
popular with Dennis’s voice, producer Niney the Observer as he is fondly called,
pushed him into a more roots led direction, over stark rhythms created by Niney’s
studio band Soul Syndicate.

Two outstanding albums were put together ‘Just Dennis’ (1975) built on a collection
of singles they had recorded together, ’Cassandra’, ’Westbound Train’,
’No More Will I Roam’ and ‘Conqueror’. The second 1977 set ‘Wolf and Leopards’
made up again of singles the prolific two had cut including, ‘Here I Come’
(a live favourite that Dennis always liked to start his set with) and ‘Children of Israel’
made these both strong roots era albums.

We have stayed with this period for our Dennis Brown album. Some of the above
mentioned cuts are present alongside the timeless crossover hit ‘Money In My Pocket’
(1979) produced by Niney but often credited as a Joe Gibbs production as it was released
(and sweetened by adding Orchestration for the foreign market place) on his label.
By the way this is the original Jamaican version (unsweetened) that you will find on
this album a more truthful version in our humble opinion. His voice reigns supreme
across these Niney produced cuts ‘Smile like An Angel’ ‘Silver Words’, ‘Play Girl’ and
the fantastic ‘Poor Side Of Town’ (helped along by the great harmonies of the
Heptones group), ‘Tribulation’ and ‘We Will Be Free’. Dennis Brown’s prolific catalogue
of tunes that also found an outlet on his own DEB inprint (named after his initials) stands
to show what a great artist he was and what a fine team he and Niney made when in the
studio creating these magical moments. So sit back and enjoy a killer set of tunes compiled
by Niney himself...Tribulation Times indeed and long may the records of the Crown Prince
of Reggae Dennis Brown rule the world.....

CD Track Listing

1. Smile Like An Angel
2. Poor Side Of Town
3. Money In My Pocket (Original Jamaican Version)
4. This World Is Troubled
5. Silver Words
6. Play Girl
7. Tribulation
8. Westbound Train
9. Let Me Live
10. Don’t Expect Me To Be Your Friend
11. Summertime
12. My Kind
13. Golden Streets
14. We Will Be Free
15. If I Follow My Heart*
16. Rasta Children*
•CD Bonus Track

Vinly Track Listing

Side 1
1. Smile Like An Angel
2. Poor Side Of Town
3. Money In My Pocket (Original Jamaican Version)
4. This World Is Troubled
5. Silver Words
6. Play Girl
7. Tribulation

Side 2

1. Westbound Train
2. Let Me Live
3. Don’t Expect Me To Be Your Friend
4. Summertime
5. My Kind
6. Golden Streets
7. We Will Be Free

Musicians Include:
Carlton ‘Santa’ Davis: Drums
George ‘Fully’ Fullwood: Bass
Earl ‘Chinna’ Smith, Tony Chin: Guitar
Keith Sterling, Gladstone ‘Gladdy’ Anderson: Keyboards
Noel ‘Skully’ Simms: Percussion
Bobby Ellis, Tommy McCook, Vin Gordon: Horns
Heptones: Harmonies

Recorded at: Dynamic Sounds, Joe Gibbs Studio
Produced by: Niney The Observer
Design by: Gary at Voodoo London
Manufactured under Licence from: Winston Holness
Made in the UK
All tracks copyright control