Johnny Clarke stands tall as one of the great vocalists that ruled the
Jamaican reggae scene from the mid 1970’s to the early 1980’s
Dancehall period. This re-issue of his ‘Don’t Stay Out Late’ set shows
his versatility to sing any song that was put in from of him and make
it his own. Under producer Bunny ‘Striker’ Lee’s guidance, Mr Clarke
produced a run of singles and albums few could match.

Johnny Clarke (b.1955, Jamaica,West Indies) cut his first record
‘God Made The Sea and Sun’, after winning a local singing contest
in the Bull Bay area of Jamaica. Although the single was not a hit, it
led to two follow up tracks for producer Rupie Edwards,
‘Everyday Wandering’ and ‘Julie’ that fared much
better, both on the island and oversees in England and Canada.
These tracks also brought the singer to the attention of producer
Bunny Lee and a working relationship that would go on to produce
a prolific catalogue of music. Johnny Clarke’s Dread Conscious /
Love Song style were to grace many hits around this time in 1974.
Such tunes as ‘None Shall Escape The Judgement’,
‘Move Out of Babylon’, ‘Rock With Me Baby’, ‘Enter The Gates With Praise’
to name but a few. All new songs added to a host of cover tunes,
recommended by Bunny Lee, many taken from the singer John Holt’s
catalogue, that suited Clarke’s vocal style. The rhythms were cut at
various studios around the Island. Randy’s Studio 17, Channel 1,
Treasure Isle, Dynamic Sounds and Harry J’s, by a group of musicians
loosely called the Aggrovators and voiced at King Tubby’s studio.

The ‘Don’t Stay Out Late ‘ set incorporates some tracks as we stated
earlier made hits by singer John Holt ‘Memories By The Score’,
‘Happy Go Lucky Girl’ as well as some Johnny Clarke originals
‘Blood Dunza’, ‘Judgement Day’, ‘They Can’t Conquer I and I’.
Alongside a track made famous by Bob Marley ‘Keep On Moving’
but was in fact a foreign tune written by Curtis Mayfield. All great
tracks backed by great rhythms, cut by Mr Johnny Clarke with a voice
that few could equal.

CD Track Listing

1. Don’t Stay Out Late
2. Memories By The Score
3. Judgement Day
4. Let Him Try
5. Why Can’t I Touch You
6. Keep On Moving
7. Happy Go Lucky Girl
8. Blood Dunza
9. They Can’t Conquer I and I
10. You Can’t Be Happy*
11. Hey Girl Don’t Bother Me*
12. If You Should Lose Me*
13. Left With A Broken Heart*
14. Take My Hand*
*CD Bonus Tracks

Vinyl Track Listing

Side 1
1. Don’t Stay Out Late
2. Memories By The Score
3. Judgement Day
4. Let Him Try
5. Why Can’t I Touch You

Side 2

1. Keep On Moving
2. Happy Go Lucky Girl
3. Blood Dunza
4. They Can’t Conquer I and I

Musicians Include:
Sly Dunbar, Carlton ‘Santa’ Davis: Drums
Robbie Shakespeare, Aston ‘Family Man’ Barrett: Bass
Willie Lingo: Rhythm Guitar
Earl ‘Chinna’ Smith: Lead Guitar
Winston Wright: Organ
Jackie Mittoo: Piano
Tommy McCook: Tenor Saxophone
Bobby Ellis: Trumpet
Deadley ‘Headley’ Bennett & Vin Gordon: Trombone

Recorded at: : Channel 1, Harry J’s, Randys Studio 17,
Treasure Isle, Dynamic and King Tubbys
Produced By: Bunny Lee
Photography By: Bunny Lee
Design By: Gary @Voodoo London
Manufactured Under License from: E. Lee