Dennis Alcapone initially inspired by DJ U Roy, was soon to challenge his crown
in the early part of the 70’s releasing over 100 hit tunes. He could weave his vocal
magic over any tune / rhythm that came his way and take it to another place.

Dennis Alcapone (b. Dennis Smith, 6 August 1947, Clarendon, Jamaica) began
Dj-ing for the El Paso Hi–Fi Sound System around 1969.His first releases resulted
from working with producer Keith Hudson, a succession of hits followed,
‘Shades Or Hudson’, ’Spanish Omega’, ‘Revelation Version’, ‘Maca Version’ and
‘The Sky’s The Limit’ all hit in 1970 alone. Dennis moved camp to work with producer
Duke Reid reworking some fresh ideas over classic Treasure Isle rhythms.
’Number One Station’, ‘Mosquito One’, in 1971 and ‘Rock To The Beat’, ’Love Is
A Gamble’, ‘Wake Up Jamaica’, ‘Teach The Children’ and ‘Musical Alphabet’ in
1972. Dennis moved on to work with all the top producers through this period
between 1970 – 1973,producers Coxonne Dodd, Lee Perry, Sir JJ, Winston Riley,
Joe Gibbs, Prince Buster all provided an outlet for his musical endeavours.
Another great relationship was his work for producer Bunny Lee, again scoring
some big hits including, ‘Guns Don’t Argue’ and ‘Ripe Cherry’ the later adding a
twist to Bunny’s massive hit of the time ‘Cherry Oh Baby’.

We have looked to this period in Dennis’s career where there is a wealth of great
music. ‘Go Deh’ (Leroy Smarts ‘How Long’), ‘Eternal Life’ (Johnny Clarke’s version
of Peter Tosh’s ‘Legalise It’) Steve Austin (The Six Million Dollar Man tale over Leroy
Smart’s ‘Pride and Ambition’), Wise Man From The East (Johnny Clarke’s
‘You Have Caught Me Baby’), It Must Come (Delroy Wilson’s ‘Better Must Come’)
Blessed Are The Meek (Slim Smith’s ‘Blessed Are The Meek’) to name but a few.
Dennis left Jamaica in 1973 just after being awarded the Cup for Best DJ in Jamaica
by Swing magazine. With his signature shout of Yeah Yeah Yeah !... you knew he
was going to Mash Up The Dance wherever his musical talents led him.

Hope you enjoy this set of hits and lost classics.

CD Track Listing

1 Go Deh
2 Wise Man From The East
3 It Must Come
4 Guns Don’t Argue
5 Steve Austin
6 No Place Like Home
7 Blessed Are The Meek
8 Eternal Life
9 Gather My People
10 If Jah Is For Us
11 Table Gonna Turn
12 Rock It In The Ghetto
13 Life Is Great
14 Togetherness
15 Walk In Gladness*
16 Everybody Needs Love*
17 Investigation Rock*
18 Too Proud To Beg*
•CD Bonus Track

Vinyl Track Listing

Side 1
1 Go Deh
2 Wise Man From The East
3 It Must Come
4 Guns Don’t Argue
5 Steve Austin
6 No Place Like Home
7 Blessed Are The Meek

Side 2

1 Eternal Life
2 Gather My People
3 If Jah Is For Us
4 Table Gonna Turn
5 Rock It In The Ghetto
6 Life Is Great
7 Togetherness

Musicians Include:
Sly Dunbar: Drums
Robbie Shakespeare: Bass
Earl ‘Chinna’ Smith: Lead Guitar
Winston Wright: Organ
Robbie Lynn: Keyboards
Tommy McCook: Tenor Saxophone
Bobby Ellis: Trumpet
Studios Include: Channel 1, Harry J’s, Randy’s Studio 17

Produced By: Bunny Lee & Dennis Smith
Design By: Gary @ Voodoo London
Photography: Dennis Alcapone
Manufactured under Licence from E. Lee