John Holt has one of the finest and most versatile voices to come out of Jamaica. Whether fronting the great vocal group ‘The Paragons’ which he joined around 1965, singing many of their greatest hits including ‘Tide Is High’, ‘On The Beach’, ‘Wear You To The Ball’ to name but a few or his extensive solo career. A career that saw him covering every musical style from Pop, Lovers, Soul and his much overlooked Roots period.

John Holt (b 1947, Kingston, Jamaica) was a child prodigy he began his career being a regular voice on the talent contests run by Vera Johns across the Jamaican Island. He cut his first single in 1963 for Leslie Kong’s Beverleys label, ‘I Cried A Tear/Forever I’ll Stay’ and sang many duets with various singers of the day including ‘Rum Bumper’ with Alton Ellis. 1965 to 1970 as stated above, was John Holt’s Paragon years in a period which he also ran solo with hits such as ‘Fancy Make Up’, ‘A Love I Can Feel and ‘ Let’s Build Our Dreams’.

The early to mid - 70’s saw Holt having another wave of hits working with producer Bunny Lee including the biggest selling hit of Jamaica in 1972 ‘Stick By Me’. A series of albums followed the 1,000 / 2,000 / 3,000 Volts of John Holt sets that were brought to London for ‘sweetening’ (strings added) with Tony Ashfield and had massive crossover appeal in the UK and Europe culminating in a 1974 Christmas hit with Kris Kristofferson’s ‘Help Me Make It Through The Night’.

For this release we are looking at his extremely productive period
working with producer Bunny Lee. This reissue of John Holt’s classic 1976 album ‘Before The Next Tear Drop’ is an album filled with classic after
classic sung by Mr Holt effortlessly. The CD version of this release fills many of the gaps with those early hits and some lost favourites that yet again fit in so well with John Holts great vocal style. Much Respect and we hope you enjoy visiting these tracks one more time…

CD Track Listing

1 Since I Fell For You
2 No Man Is An Island
3 Sugar
4 Lovely Girl
5 Before The Next Tear drop
6 Wasted Days And Wasted Nights
7 You Must Believe Me
8 Walk Away
9 Since I Met You Baby
10 Keep On Running
11 Left With A Broken Heart*
12 Man Next Door (Got To Get Away)*
13 Sometimes*
14 It’s a Jam In The Street*
15 Just Out Of Reach*
16 Tide Is High*
17 My Number One*
18 Walking Along*

•CD Bonus Track

Vinyl Track Listing

Side 1
1 Since I Fell For You
2 No Man Is An Island
3 Sugar
4 Lovely Girl
5 Before The Next Tear drop

Side 2

1 Wasted Days And Wasted Nights
2 You Must Believe Me
3 Walk Away
4 Since I Met You Baby
5 Keep On Running

Musicians Include:

Sly Dunbar: Drums
Robbie Shakespeare: Bass
Earl ‘Chinna’ Smith: Lead Guitar
Winston Wright: Organ
Robbie Lynn: Keyboards
Tommy McCook: Tenor Saxophone
Bobby Ellis: Trumpet

Recorded at: Channel 1, Harry J’s & Randy’s Studio 17
Produced By: Bunny Lee
Design By: Gary @ Voodoo London
Photography: Bunny Lee / Jah Floyd
Manufactured Under License from: E.Lee
All Titles Copyright Control