Pat Kelly out of all the Jamaican singers was influenced most by the voice
of American soul singer Sam Cooke. As were indeed many of the singers
from that time. Few however could carry out this daunting task as well as
Pat Kelly. His delivery was perfect and so was his ability to carry any
song that came his way.

Pat Kelly (born 1949, Kingston, Jamaica) began his singing career in 1967
when he replaced Slim Smith as lead singer of the Techniques, his voice
working so well with the impeccable harmonies of Winston Riley and
Bruce Ruffin. Their first hit for the mighty Duke Reid stable was a version
of Curtis Mayfield's tune ‘You’ll Want Me Back’ retitled ‘You Don’t Care’
which held the Number 1 position in Jamaica for six weeks. Their next
hit was another Curtis Mayfield cover of the Impressions ‘Minstrel and
Queen’ again retitled for the Jamaican market as ‘Queen Minstrel’.
Further hits followed with such cuts as ‘My Girl’ and ‘Love is Not a Gamble’
before in 1968 Kelly decided to become a solo artist and hooked up with
producer Bunny Lee. Bunny decided not to break the tried and tested
formula and put Kelly on another Curtis Mayfield track ‘Little Boy Blue’
a style that suited his voice so well. This paid dividends and was followed
with ‘How Long’ (will I love you)' which gave them the biggest selling
Jamaican hit of 1969. A track which broke the mould in that often used
tradition where Jamaican tracks are sweetened for the foreign markets
by adding string arrangements. This was reversed on this occasion as
the tune had already been released in the UK and dubbed over with
strings so came back to the Jamaican shores and released there.

Another string to Pat Kelly's bow was his engineering skills. Having
already spent a year in America studying electronics he put this to
good use and became little known to many one of the chief engineers
at Channel 1 studios in the late 1970's and early 1980's.

For this release we have focused on material that Mr Kelly had
recorded with legendary Jamaican producer Bunny ‘Striker’ Lee.
A match made in heaven and one that produced some of their
finest work. Tracks such as ‘One In A Million’, ’One Man Stand’,
‘Man Of My Word’, ‘I Started A Joke’ as well as some great reggae
standards ‘Those Guys’, ‘Loving Pauper’ and ‘You and Your Smiling Face’.
’No Love’ and the great ‘Better Get Ready’, which we have named this
release after. So sit back and you better get ready for and albums worth
of great songs sung and delivered as only the great Pat Kelly

CD Track Listing

1 Those Guys
2 Loving Pauper
3 Last Chance
4 You and Your Smiling Face
5 One In A Million
6 No Love
7 I started A Joke
8 Man of My Word
9 I Can’t Explain
10 One Man Stand
11 I Wish It Would Rain
12 I Hear Them Say
13 Better Get Ready
14 Midnight Hour
15 Butterflies*
16 Ebony Eyes*
17 It’s You I Love*
18 We Are Fighting For the Rights*
•CD Bonus Track

Vinyl Track Listing

Side 1
1. Those Guys
2. Loving Pauper
3. Last Chance
4. You And Your Smiling Face
5. One In A Million
6. No Love
7. I Started A Joke

Side 2

1. Man Of My Word
2. I Can’t Explain
3. One Man Stand
4. I Wish It Would Rain
5. I Hear Them Say
6. Better Get Ready
7. Midnight Hour

Musicians Include:
Slim Smith, Ken Parker: Backing Vocals
Winston Grennon, Carlton ‘Santa’ Davis, Sly Dunbar: Drums
Lorrel White, Robbie Shakespeare, Aston ‘Family Man’ Barrett: Bass
Ronnie ‘Bop’ Williams, Earl ‘Chinna’ Smith: Guitar
Glen Adams: Piano
Winston Wright: Organ
Augustus Pablo: Keyboards
Tommy McCook: Saxophone
Bobby Ellis: Trumpet
Vin Gordon: Trombone

Recorded at: Federal, Channel 1, Randy’s Studio 17, Dynamic, Harry J’s & King Tubby’s
Produced By: Bunny Lee
Design by: Gary@Voodoo London
Photography: Courtesy of Bunny Lee
Manufactured Under Licence from: E.Lee