Legendary record producer Bunny ‘Striker’ Lee’s vast selection of rhythms were ever
present at any Sound Clash or Dance worth talking about in the early to mid 1970’s.
Where the version found on the b-side of a single or special dubs cut on acetates,
would be played to win over the people and conquer the dance. Bunny Lee was the
undisputed rhythm master and on this special release he is also the MC telling the
crowd how it is and that any rival sound system should watch out as he has the
rhythms that can reign supreme. The band cutting these timeless rhythms were
a group of top Jamaican musicians Bunny had put together called The Aggrovators.

The Aggrovators were a group of reggae musicians that usually featured
Carlton ‘Santa’ Davis on drums playing alongside Robbie Shakespeare on bass,
with other musicians added like Earl ‘Chinna’ Smith on guitar and Tommy McCook
and Vin Gordon and Lennox Brown added for horn arrangements. Keyboards and
organ duties normally fell to musicians Ansel Collins and Bernard ‘Touter’ Harvey.

The band was named after singer Eddie Grant had repeated the phrase to
Bunny Lee on one of his many trips to England, that such and such artist was
giving him ‘Aggro’. This was a term used in England in the 1970’s by the Skinhead
followers of reggae music. A term shortened from the word ‘Aggrovation’, meaning
trouble, fighting or making the situation worse. Bunny Lee was so taken with this
term that on returning to Jamaica, not only did he name his group of musicians the
‘Aggrovators’ but he also named his record shop situated at 101 Orange Street
‘Agro Records’. We have compiled some great tracks recorded by this fantastic
group of musicians. With the added extra magic of Mr Bunny Lee calling it out as
only he can on the microphone.

Yes Run Sound Boy Run the version master is here…Respect…

CD Track Listing
1 Drumming Up Dub
2 Darker Shade of Dub
3 Run Sound Boy Run To Dub
4 A Wandering Dub
5 Talking Dub
6 A Stalag Dub Style
7 Trap A Dub
8 Don’t Try and Use Dub
9 Change Your Spots Dub
10 Queen of Dubs
11 Baba Dub
12 A Kingston Dub
13 Born To Love Dub*
14 Dreader Than Dub*
15 Can’t Conquer My Dub Sound*
*CD Bonus Tracks

Vinyl Track Listing
Side 1
1 Drumming Up Dub
2 Darker Shade of Dub
3 Run Sound Boy Run To Dub
4 A Wandering Dub
5 Talking Dub
6 A Stalag Dub Style

Side 2
1 Trap A Dub
2 Don’t Try and Use Dub
3 Change Your Spots Dub
4 Queen of Dubs
5 Baba Dub
6 A Kingston Dub

Musicians Include:

Carlton ‘Santa’ Davis, Carlton Barrett & Sly Bunbar: Drums
Robbie Shakespeare: Bass
Earl ‘Chinna’ Smith: Lead Guitar
Willie Lingo: Rhythm Guitar
Winston Wright: Organ
Jackie Mittoo: Piano
Ansel Collins & Bernard ‘Touter’ Harvey: Keyboards
Tommy McCook: Tenor Saxophone
Bobby Ellis: Trumpet
Deadly ‘Headley’ Bennett & Vin Gordon: Trombone

Recorded at: Channel 1, Randy’s Studio 17, Harry J’s and King Tubby’s Studio
Mixed at: King Tubby’s Studio
Produced by: Bunny Lee
Photography by: Bunny Lee
Design by: Gary@ Voodoo London
Manufactured under Licence from: E. Lee